top of page

Closed Championship 2017


Our 2017 Closed Championships culminated in an enjoyable day of competitive final games, prize giving and a bbq feast to celebrate a fantastic week at our club. It is an annual internal club competition which sees our members compete against each other in both singles and doubles matches. It was a hugely successful event with an exciting week of fantastic tennis being played throughout. Over the course of the week members competed in 10 events. We were very fortunate that the wet weather held off which allowed the tournament to be enjoyed by both the players and spectators. Huge thank you extends to those who are behind the scenes in organising such a successful week, from Maria O’Keeffe who coordinated the kitchen, our resident referee Brian Foley, Cathy Brooks and Catherine Griffin who made sure the schedule ran smoothly and to the many volunteers who worked the kitchen and brought mouth-watering baked goods. The week was closed out with some delectable salads and scrumptious feast of barbecued meats cooked up courtesy of our extraordinary chefs Curly O’Keeffe and Lumey Bland who always serve up the food with a side of comedy. Well done to all those who competed and congratulations to those who were crowned champions in their individual events. Club President Ghyslaine Hegarty presented the winners and runners-up with their trophies and prizes and Club Captain Aoife Fitzgerald closed out the week with a speech thanking all those involved with the 2017 Closed Championship.

Crosshaven Tennis Club Closed Championship 2017 Results:

Men’s A Singles: Winner Kevin Moynihan; runner up, Jonathan Mulcahy

Ladies’s A Singles: Winner Joanna Riordan; runner up, Monica Twomey

Ladies’s A2 Singles: Winner Ghyslaine Hegarty; runner up, Cathy Brooks

Men’s B Singles: Winner Peadar Donoghoe; runner up, Liam Bland

Men’s A Doubles: Winners Jim Connolly/John Griffin; runners up, Jim Mulcahy / Phil Neville

Ladies’s A Doubles: Winners Clodagh Bermingham / Sarah o’Loughin; runners up, Karen McBarron / Maria O’Keeffe

Mixed A Doubles: Winners Caroline Lawlor / Kenny Ding; runners up, Jim Mulcahy / Linda St Leger

Men’s B Doubles: Winners Peadar O’Donoghoe / Lyndon O’Hea; runners up, Finbarr O’Callaghan / Cathal McGrath

Ladies’s B Doubles: Winners Hilda Buckley / Jane O’Callaghan; runners up, Megan O’Keeffe / Emma Neville

Mixed B Doubles: Winners Eileen O’Brien / Derek Moynan; runners up, Sue Parker / Finbarr O’Callaghan

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page